Are you Thankful?

1939930_10203612663461330_1598857937_n“In everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. (1 Thess. 5:18)”

I’m thankful for sunsets on Lake Ponchartrain. God’s artistry makes Michelangelo, Rembrandt, and Da Vinci’s work look like finger paintings.

I’m thankful for the last bowl of cereal out of the box. It is a mixture of sugar dust and cereal goodness.

I’m thankful for my family because they’ve always been there. They love me without conditions and restraint.

I’m thankful for good soul music which incarnates affectionate longings for young love. I was born by the river in a little tent…

I’m thankful for my friends, my fellow pilgrims on the way. The tender-hearted ones. The patient ones. The forgiving ones. The ones that say “God loves you Austin. Press on to know him.”

I’m thankful for books that impart both wisdom and knowledge. Old books, small books, thin books, and those that are big. All designed to make me do an intellectual jig.

I’m thankful for my bed at night. A warm bed and a warm meal are more than enough for an undeserving sinner.

I’m thankful for my Church family because they allow me to shepherd their youth and even encourage me. I’m unfit for the job but God equips the called.

I’m thankful for my education. I don’t know it all but I know it all matters.

I’m thankful for my car. I wouldn’t care if it was beat up, seven different colors, or smelled of kitty litter.  It gets me from point A to point B without problems.

frgtbhrI’m thankful for nightly runs where I get to unwind, listen to music, and reflect on my day. It is always interesting to come across a New Orleans critter unexpectedly.

I’m thankful for the Lord of the Rings. It isn’t a Christian allegory but it most certainly teaches me about Christ, hope, and what it means to be a courageous human in the midst of a world threatened by evil.

I’m thankful for my elder. He is like a father to me and never ceases to warmly embrace me as a son both in word and deed.

I’m thankful for Sunday school where we get to have an in-depth conversation about what it means to be a follower of Christ in a world that rejects his authority.

I’m thankful for my life. I know it does not have to be this way yet God blesses me each and every day.

Leave a Reply

