I Gain Nothing

dcgbfg“If I think I have all of my theology right, but have not love, then I have none of my theology right.” Burk Parsons

Paul wrote “If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.”

If I write a systematic theology book that is used by every seminary and church on the planet, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I dig enough wells to sate the thirst of every person on the planet, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I put a cross on my back and walk across the United States, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I discourse with angels concerning election and God’s glory, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I teach the nations Hebrew, Greek, and Aramaic, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I lead a church with millions of parishioners that plant thousands upon thousands of other churches, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I provide every orphan with a pair of Tom’s shoes, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I memorize the whole New Testament and can quote it from memory in my sleep, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I preach like Wesley, Graham, Piper or any of the bests, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I tithe all that I make and build up the kingdom in every way, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I can refute every erroneous theological position with passion and truth, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I do everything the right way, but have not love, I gain nothing.

If I have it all from a human perspective, but have not love, I am nothing.

Leave a Reply

