Untitled Hymn

John Wesley once said “Above all sing spiritually. Have an eye to God in every word you sing. Aim at pleasing Him more than yourself, or any other creature. In order to do this attend strictly to the sense of what you sing, and see that your heart is not carried away with the sound, but offered to God continually; so shall your singing be such as the Lord will approve here, and reward you when he cometh in the clouds of heaven.”
Growing up, the only spiritual music i knew was hymns. Our Church never sang contemporary or prophetic music during our services. Because of this, my spiritual walk was impacted more by Charles Wesley than Hillsong, more by Fanny J. Crosby than David Crowder, more by Issac Watts than Fee, and more  by John Newton than Misty Edwards. I kind of like the old hymns. The old hymns many times put the new music to shame. Such theology…such passion…such devotion! Now im not saying ALL contemporary music isn’t as stout as the old hymns. There’s many an example of new music that blows the old theologically, lyrically, and musically out of the water.  The new music is like a refreshing glass of crisp water on a hot day- it refreshes and sustains. The old hymns are like wine- they get better with age and taste so sweet. Both satisfy, replenish, sustain, and refresh. Remember that singing to Him is not an option. Singing to the Lord is a biblical command.
“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. (Col. 3:16)”

“Praise the LORD! Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the godly! (Psa. 149:1)” 

“Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise from the end of the earth, you who go down to the sea, and all that fills it, the coastlands and their inhabitants.Let the desert and its cities lift up their voice, the villages that Kedar inhabits; let the habitants of Sela sing for joy, let them shout from the top of the mountains. (Isa. 42:10-11)”

Below is a hymn whose name is unknown. All that is known about it is that the hymn originated sometime and somewhere in China. I hope it presses you on towards Christ and His glory in all things. 

Untitled Hymn

Let me love and not be respected;
Let me serve and not be rewarded;
Let me labor and not be remembered;
Let me suffer and not be regarded.
‘Tis the pouring, not the drinking;
‘Tis the breaking, not the keeping
A life suff’ring to seek other’s blessing.
A life loving and true comfort giving.
Not accepting pity and concern.
Not accepting, solace and applause;
Even lonely, even forgotten, Even wordless, even forsaken.
Tears and blood, my price for the righteous crown shall be;
Losing all, my cost for a faithful pilgrim’s life.
‘Twas the life, O Lord, that You chose to live.
In those days when on earth You walked,
Gladly suff’ring all injuries and loss,
so that all might draw near and repose.
I cannot see how much farther I shall go;
Still I press on knowing there is no return.
Let me follow Your pattern so perfect and true,
Bearing ingratitude without complaint.
In this time of trial, O my Lord,
I pray that You’d wipe all my hidden tears away;
Let me learn, O Lord, You are my reward,
Let me be others’ blessing all my days. 

Leave a Reply

